h1

Thoughts on Yaoi.

May 30, 2009

Yuki and Shouichi from the anime "Gravitation".

Yuki and Shouichi from the anime "Gravitation".

Personal: I was recently asked, “How do I feel about yaoi?”. I replied, “I don’t mind it, it’s just not my cup of tea”. I don’t really enjoy yaoi, with there being a few exceptions to the list. Frankly, I believe that yaoi is lacking as a genre. It seems like typically it’s rip off your clothes and screw me. There are some anime/manga where it goes in deeper and deals with not just the characters homosexuality, but the way that they interact with each other as well. Personally, I enjoy yaoi that don’t have sex in it. I’m sure of my sexuality, but two guys going at it is really not what I enjoy in an anime, manga, scratch that ANYTHING. Two guys kissing doesn’t cut it for me either, but that’s often relevant to the plotline and not as smutty. I’ve read stuff like Yakuza in Love that wasn’t terrible, but didn’t cut it for me. I have yet to see or read a yaoi that proves yaoi is nothing more than homosexual sex.

 

My Issue: The fans. I try my best to resist discriminating against anime fans, I really do. It’s just so difficult to do it when the fans sit right in front of me plopped on the floor giggling and getting so excited over something that should be done at home. I wouldn’t bust out Black Bible and fap in front of you, so why would you? It’s even more so difficult when I do try to give yaoi a chance and you fans post “kawaii ><!!!!!” over and over. Give some actual detail as to why it’s cute. I’ve met some very nice fujoshi over the years, intelligent, well-kept and such and on occasion induldge in the yaoi and talk to me about it as I pretend to care and nod my head nonchalantly. Sadly, not all fujoshi are like that. Personally, I think it’s the same feel as moe otaku. They couldn’t socialize properly, their social life was on the rocks, and being a virgin just overlapped their confidence.

 

Kondo HijikataOverview: It’s there, it will always be there. Yaoi is not the worst thing to happen to anime/manga and people who refuse to look at certain anime because of their yaoi overtone are seriously missing out. It’s not a cancer, and it is not terrible unless you make it so. I can simply at the click of a mouse evacuate from the site that hosts NarutoxSasuke doujinshi and let it be. I leave you with this, the honest damn truth that fujoshi refuse to accept:

THE TRUTH!

THE TRUTH!

2 comments

  1. What you said makes a lot of sense and was very true. I think you chose a good topic and debated it out well.
    Where you said, “… sit right in front of me plopped on the floor giggling and getting so excited over something that should be done at home…” yes that is true, I will be honeset I and other fan-girls do that alot. It is common in the yaoi culture.
    I also am very unpleased with the comments people leave on yaoi video’s. Don’t waste space just to say “Cute XD” or “i love this!!! *Faints*” especially the “KAWAII!!!! (^u^)” Kawaii is getting very annoying!
    I am a very big yaoi fan-girl, and even I have my limits. I rarely watch the “typical rip off your clothes and screw me”. I reccomned people start off with JunJou Romantica, it is a Shonen Ai (softer boy love relatioship).
    Thank you for writing your opinion’s!
    ^3^


    • Im guessing you hate the fan-girl screams…
      A fan-girl scream is caused by too much joy/happieness or too much pressure and comes out a loud scream… You can’t control these, if you try you’ll just start breathing really hard.
      (Doesn’t reccomend you read these in a Library)



Leave a Reply

