h1

Number Five Anime of the Year

December 8, 2010

Art: Jon and I decided to do the thing most blogs do, and that’s rate the top five anime of the year. I personally do not believe in ranking anime, but for the hell of it, I decided to go along with it. 2010 was a semi-disappointing year (my number one anime is genuinely my number one anime) except for one anime that brought out it’s genre from a pile of shit year. I think anime did pick itself up a bit this year from the horrid year of 2009. Here’s to 2011 and the hopes that Nokemono to Hanayome gets made next year!

 

Jon’s Pick

 

Highschool of the Dead

Coming in on number 5 is Highschool of the Dead. This zombiefest was one of the most thrilling anime of 2010. While it doesn’t have the social commentary of a George A. Romero movie, it has just about everything else you can ask for in a good zombie apocalypes. It’s gorey, violent, and often can be quite frightening. It has an intense survival element that anime rarely brings to the table. An added bonus (or a minus, depending on your perspective) is the massive amounts of fan-service being thrown around. Regardless of how you feel about its ecchi elements, Highschool of the Dead is one of the most effective anime horrors in recent memory and has something to satisfy horror and anime fans alike.

 

Art’s Pick

K-On!!

I used to be a big hater of moe anime. Quite a huge hater. I remember watching the first season of K-On! and hating it for the cheap cuteness and awkward anime it was to watch due to the fandom. But upon watching it a second time, and watching the second season I genuinely enjoyed it. Maybe it’s because this anime had a bit more charm to it than the previous season. I think it just might be the fact that they were seniors, and they’re in the same situation I am. Episode 21 got me tearing up hard, something I’ve never done watching animation. Despite the animation (or what Kyo Ani considers animation) got much, much cheaper, the show gave me a warm feeling everytime I saw it. If you were watching K-On!! like the guys over at Bakacast were, you’re an idiot. This anime is not about music, but rather the girls that play it. This anime caused me to be more open minded, and how can that not be a ranked on my list?

Leave a Reply

